Baby Storytime: 31

Opening Song

Action Rhyme:

“Where is Thumbkin”

Book:

image

Bark, George by Jules Feiffer

Feltboard:

“Two Little Black Birds”

Two little blackbirds sitting in a tree,

One named Jack, one named Jill.

Fly away Jack. Fly away Jill.

Fly back Jill. Fly back Jack.

Two little blackbirds sitting in a tree.

Action Rhyme:

“Baby Hokey Pokey”

Hokey Pokey, but babies remained seated, and only arm and leg verses are used.

Shared Book:image

Spot’s First Shapes by Eric Hill

Action Rhyme:

“Jelly”

Jelly on my head, jelly on my toes.

Jelly on my shirt, jelly on my nose.

Jelly on my belly. Jelly is my favorite food,

And when I’m in a jelly mood,

I can’t ever get enough,

Of that yummy, yummy stuff!

Book:

image

Perfect Square by Michael Hall

Song:

“Head Shoulders Knees and Toes”

Closing Song

Advertisements

Toddler Storytime: Police Officers

Earlier this week we had a “Coffee and Stories with a Cop” program, so I decided to utilize the left over program supplies for a Police Officer themed storytime. In the future, I’ll do a community helpers program, because three toddler books about Police Officers got a little repetitive. But fun!

Opening Song

“The More We Get Together”

Action Rhyme:

“Where is Thumbkin?”

Book:

image

Police Officers on Patrol by Kersten Hamilton

Action Rhyme:

“Police Officers”

Five police officers standing by a door,

One became a traffic cop; then there were four.

Four polices officers watching over me,

One took home a lost boy; then there were three.

Three police officers, dressed all in blue,

One stopped a speeding car; then there were two.

Two police officers– how fast they run!

One caught a bad man; then there was one.

One police officer saw smoke far away.

He called the firehouse, and the firemen saved the day.

Book:

image

Police Officers: My Community Jobs by Julie Murray

Action Rhyme:

“Hats on Everyone”

Hats on police officers starchy and blue (salute)

Hats on fire fighters shiny and new (spray fire hose)

Hats on marchers in a band (drum)

Hats on astronauts when they land (float)

Hats on farmers made of straw (shovel hay)

Hats on kids out in the sun (shade eyes)

Hats on almost everyone! (hold hands out to side)

Book:

image

Police: Hurrying! Helping! Saving! by Patricia Hubbell

Game:

“Red Light! Green Light!”

Closing Song

Baby Storytime: 30

Opening Song

Action Rhyme:

“Open Them, Shut Them”

Feltboard:

“Two Little Black Birds”

Two little blackbirds sitting in a tree,

One named Jack, one named Jill.

Fly away Jack. Fly away Jill.

Fly back Jill. Fly back Jack.

Two little blackbirds sitting in a tree.

Book:

image

No Nap! Yes Nap! by Margie Palatini

Action Rhyme:

“Baby’s Bellybutton”

These are baby’s fingers,

These are baby’s toes,

This is baby’s bellybutton,

Round and round it goes.

Shared Book:

image

Yawn by Sally Symes

Action Rhyme:

“Teddy Bear”

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, turn around.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, touch the ground.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, show your shoe.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear, I love you.

Song

“Row, row, row your boat”

Book:

image

Overboard by Sarah Weeks

Song:

“Head Shoulders Knees and Toes”

Closing Song

Mr. Churchill’s Secretary

I’m being lazy today. I blame it on the lack of coffee. So, I’m going to copy and paste the Goodreads blurb of Mr. Churchill’s Secretarythe first in the Maggie Hope Mystery series by Susan Elia MacNeal, and my short Goodreads review.

Goodreads:

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined—and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character,  Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

My Review:

If I had half stars I’d give it 2.5

This series has been on my radar since publication in 2012(ish) but after reading this one I won’t be reading the rest. Which is unfortunate, because this is right up my alley, and it even says right at the top “for fans of Jacqueline Winspear,” and I definitely fall into that category. But MacNeal’s writing is awful, there are too many characters, it jumps from one narrative to the next with no break in the page so it’s hard to tell what’s going on, and the story goes well beyond where it should have ended. With that said, once I got into the mystery I had to know what happened (which is why it’s 2.5 stars).

#Foundinabook

Look up the hashtag #foundinabook sometime, and you’ll find some interesting things! These are much more inspiring than what others have found.

One reader thought Amina’s Voice was so good, she (I’m assuming she) had to let everyone know just how good it is.

IMG_5956

This lovely bookmark was found in a book a while ago and I love looking at it at the desk, so I decided I had to share. IMG_5935

Baby Storytime: 29

Opening Song

Action Rhyme:

“Open Them, Shut Them”

Shared Book:

image

It Looked Like Spilt Milk by Charles G. Shaw

Action Rhyme:

“I’m Bouncing”

I’m bouncing, bouncing everywhere (bounce child on knees)

I bounce and bounce into the air (raise child up)

I’m bouncing, bouncing like a ball,

I bounce and bounce, then down I fall (let child slip through knees)

x2

Book:

image

Overboard by Sarah Weeks

Action Rhyme:

“Eye Winker”

Eye winker (point to eyes)

Tom tinker (point to ears)

Mouth eater (point to mouth)

Chin chopper (point to chin)

Chin chopper, chin chopper, chin chopper,

Chin chopper, chin (tickle under chin)

Song:

“Head Shoulders Knees and Toes”

Shared Book:

image

Snuggle Puppy by Sandra Boynton

Action Rhyme:

“Where is Thumbkin”

Closing Song

Toddler Storytime: Houses and Homes

Opening Song

“The More We Get Together”

Action Rhyme:

“Where is Thumbkin?”

Book:

image

Grandma’s Tiny House by JaNay Brown-Wood

Action Rhyme:

“Here is a House”

Here is a house built up high (hands over head to make a roof)

With two big chimneys reaching for the sky (raise arms up high)

Here is a window (draw a square)

Here is a door (pretend to open a door)

If we look inside (peek through fingers)

There’s a mouse on the floor! (scamper fingers away)

Credit: Storytime Katie, from Perry Public Library

image

This House, Once by Deborah Freedman

Feltboard:

“Goldilocks and the Three Bears”

*about halfway through I realized I had messed and did not include the parts about Goldilocks breaking chairs etc. Oh well, the kids didn’t seem to mind, but just a reminder to practice, practice, practice!

Book:

image

Follow the Line Through the House by Laura Ljungkvist

Action Rhyme:

“Teddy Bear”

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,

Turn around.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,

Touch the ground.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,

Show your shoes.

Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,

I love you.

Closing Song