Funk

In addition to several books on gardening* I have six books checked out and I recently returned two without reading more than a page. I am in a serious reading funk. Nothing intrigues me. Nothing catches my fancy.  Not even in audio book form, which is highly unusual.

First, the two audio books I returned after putting in a serious effort and still couldn’t connect…

image

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown was on several best of 2016 lists. I so wanted to like it! I tried the audio version first, but strangely that didn’t hook me. I tried reading it and I’d read a page and get distracted by something, then read another page, decide I was hungry, read another page and so on and so on. I renewed it the maximum amount of times and was still only a quarter of the way through. So I gave up. I do really like the illustrations. I think those were the best part.

image

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld also got rave reviews, and I’m usually a sucker for a Pride and Prejudice rewrite. This one just felt off to me though. For one thing, I couldn’t get over Lizzy being called Liz. She’s a grown woman, call her Elizabeth. If you must give her a nickname, keep Lizzy since that’s what Jane Austen used. The odd thing is, many of my friends call me Liz and I don’t care. Maybe this is one I should try reading as well. I didn’t care for the narrator. I do like the idea of Bingley being on a Bachelor style show.

image

I’ve been carrying around Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton for a while now, but I can’t seem to get past the first few pages. Way too many new town names, creature names, food and activity names etc etc. This is why I, I decided, I struggle so much with fantasy and sci fi. Too much new information! I get bogged down and can’t get into the story. I really want to use this this book for the Popsugar Reading Challnge though, so I might try and power through though. Gotta leave my phone and the distracting Twitter feed at home though. Or in another room.

image

I also have Josephine : the dazzling life of Josephine Baker by Patricia Hruby Powell checked out, and I love the illustrations (Christian Robinson), but I’m not feeling the story in verse. However, she does seem like a fascinating woman and I want to learn more.

image

As a children’s librarian, I should read all the popular series or at least be familiar with them. I’m usually pretty good at this, but one series I can not get myself to care about is Erin Hunter’s Warriors series. Originally I thought it’s because I don’t like cats, but she has a few more series about dogs bears, and I’m still not interested. I can’t quite pinpoint why, since I enjoyed the one Redwall book I read. So it’s not necessarily the talking animals that gets me… Anyway, I want to try! So I have the first in one of the cat series (Warriors: A Vision of Shadows) at home, but I have yet to pick it up.

*I really want to have a successful veggie garden this year, and my husband and I seriously need to update our landscaping, but are complete novices. So, if you have any resources for native plants and veggie gardens in Minnesota, please let me know!

One thought on “Funk

Leave a Reply

