Just Okay

Maybe it’s my  mood, or maybe my book picker is off, but the last three books I read are only so-so. One plus? I got to check of three of the Popsugar 2017 categories.

image

I was so excited to start The Kitchens of the Great Midwest  by J. Ryan Stradal, and I really enjoyed the first few chapters about Lars. Then it got boring. Firstly, the hugely pronounced Minnesota accents on all male characters got old real fast. Secondly, I found that I did not care for any of the characters once Lars’s story ended. I am, however, interested in making some of the recipes included in the novel. Particularly the peanut butter bars.

Popsugar: A book about food

image

My next book was That Summer by Lauren Willig. I started it on the plane and while it wasn’t great, it definitely hooked me. I know Willig isn’t the greatest writer, but there’s something about her style that get’s me sucked in right away. The middle of the story was great, but the ending really disappointed me. I felt the historical story had way too many open ended questions and the modern story wrapped up too neatly. I suppose if it had kept on the way the middle went, it would be an overly long novel, but I felt a bit cheated out of answers.

Popsugar: A book with one of the four seasons in the title

image

Lastly, I started (and finished) Taylor Reid Jenkin’s Maybe in Another Life while on the return flight. I did not like this one nearly as much as After I Do. I think it’s because I did not particularly care for Hannah or her best friend Gabby. I felt like so much time was spent setting up the two various stories (it’s all about how one decision can affect a person’s life), that we never really understood the various characters and their motivations. I was obviously invested enough that I read the book

Popsugar: A book that is a story within a story

Leave a Reply

