Family Storytime: Mail

Opening Song

Book:

image

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

Song:

Head Shoulders Knees and Toes

Book:

image

Where Does the Mail Go? By Koston Meyer

Activity:

I made foam postcards in a variety of colors. I passed out the postcards and when I called the colors the children put their postcard in the mail box. Before putting the postcards in the mailbox I had the kids point out the stamp and the address and the other bits we learned about in Where Does the Mail Go? I then took out all the postcards, pretending I was the mail carrier, and told them the mail carrier delivered some postcards to me. On each postcard I asked questions and addressed them to readers and librarians. Unfortunately, I did not make enough “readers” to pass back to all the attendees. So I read aloud the postcard questions, which include “what is your favorite book?” and “who is your favorite character?” and “when do you read the most?”

Book:

image

Bunny Mail by Rosemary Wells

*I shouldn’t have even attempted this one… everyone was so riled up. As were parents. It’s been an off week here at the library for my family storytime and my colleague’s toddler storytimes. In the end, we just looked at the letters Max wrote, and I paraphrased the story, since I had enough kiddos express interest in the story.

Closing Song

Leave a Reply

