Best Books of 2016: Publishers Weekly

Picture Books

There are many repeat books on the various lists. Here are a few I read (and some that I enjoyed) that are not on School Library Journal’s list.

image

Before Morning by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Beth Krommes

I love the woodblock like illustrations. It reminds me a bit of Betsy Bowen’s picture books (which I love). However, the story itself is not my favorite. It’s not bad, but not mindblowing.

image

The Journey by Francesca Sanna

The illustrations are breathtaking. As is the story. And it is so so so so relevant.

image

Leave Me Alone by Vera Brosgol

A simple and clever story with folktale inspirations. Would make a fantastic storytime book.

Middle Grade

image

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier

Not my favorite of Telgemeier’s. My review here.

image

Ms. Bixby’s Last Day of School by John David Anderson

I haven’t read this yet, but I’m really excited about it! Just picked it up today.

Young Adult

The only one the list I read is Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys, but I already talked about that here and here.

I just picked up Unbecoming by Jenny Downham from the library today and I’ve heard great things about The Sun is Also a StarWhich is now officially added to my TBR list.

image
image

Leave a Reply

