Family Storytime: Shapes

My opening song used in past storytimes is not working anymore. I think the groups are too large. When 37 people walked in last week I improvised and used the “we wave hello like this,” but that song is kind of boring. This week I decided to try something new. Hopefully the movement and ending in a seated position will also get everyone in the mood to sit and listen and get ready for storytime.

 

Opening Song:

“If You’re Happy and You Know It”

If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands

If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands

If you’re happy and you know it and your face will surely show it

If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands.

……………………….

If you’re happy and you know it stomp your feet…

If you’re happy and you know it turn around…

If you’re happy and you know it sit down (have to draw out the word sit to fit the rhythm)

Book:

Color Zoo by Lois Ehlert

image

Feltboard:

Shape Monster

Shape Monster, Shape Monster
Munch, munch, munch
How about a red circle for your lunch?

Shape Monster, Shape Monster
Munch, munch, munch
How about a blue square for your lunch?

Shape Monster, Shape Monster
Munch, munch, munch
How about a yellow triangle for your lunch?

Shape Monster, Shape Monster
Munch, munch, munch
How about a green rectangle for your lunch?

Shape Monster, Shape Monster
Munch, munch, munch
How about a orange oval for your lunch?

Shape Monster, Shape Monster
Munch, munch, munch
How about a purple diamond for your lunch?

Shape Monster Shape Monster
Munch, munch, munch
Hope you enjoyed your shape lunch!

Credit: A Child’s Place

Song:

I’m a Little Teapot

I’m a little teapot

short and stout

Here is my handle,

here is my spout.

When I get all steamed up

Hear me shout

Tip me over

and pour me out.

Book:

Shapes, ReShape by Silvia Borando

image

Action Rhyme:

Where is….?” (to the tune of Where is Thumbkin)

Where is triangle? Where is triangle?

Here I am, Here I am (make triangle with hands)

How are you today, sir? Very well, I thank you.

Run away. Run away.

Asked storytime attendees what shape to make next. We made a square, circle and heart.

Credit: Storytime Katie

Book:

Out of Shapes by Ashley G

image

Rhyme:

“Make a Circle”

Make a circle, make a circle,

Draw it in the sky

Use your finger, use your finger

Make it round as pie.

Draw a square, draw a square,

Make the lines so straight.

Make a square, make a square,

Draw a box in the air.

Draw a triangle, draw a triangle,

Always start at the top.

Make a tent, make a tent,

Use three lines and stop!

Credit: Storytime Katie

I mean to draw out the shapes on the whiteboard as everyone else drew them in the air, but I forgot.

Closing Song

4 thoughts on “Family Storytime: Shapes

Leave a Reply

