Summer Storytime

This summer we are majorly understaffed and as such I did not get nearly enough time to plan my storytimes. Some were still good, others were not so great. I did some analyzing of my storytimes and what is working and what isn’t, which I will share later, but for now I have Summer Storytime Favorites:

Go Away Big Green Monster! By Ed Emberly

image
Monsters Love Underpants by Claire Freedman

image
I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry

image
Eeny, Meeny, Miny Mo, and Flo! By Laurel Molk

image

 

Don’t Squish the Sasquatch! By Kent Redeker

image

 

Can You Make a Scary Face?  By Jan Thomas

image

One of the best things about these books is they appeal to kids and parents. I had more than one parent (interestingly, they were all dads) told me they did not expect to sit in story time and laugh and want to check out the book themselves. Specifically, I‘m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean and Monsters Love Underpants.

I also discovered that the hokey pokey (especially if you make it work with your theme) works really well with squirrely groups. It gets everyone up and moving and it takes up a decent chunk of time, while still working on literacy skills.

 

Leave a Reply

