Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Despite being only 7 when Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil was first published, I always wanted to read the modern classic. I’m not sure when I first heard about the book, but the title stayed with me for a very long time. Who can’t resist a title like that? And that cover! Gorgeous.

image

I found the book very intriguing, and a wonderful portrayal of the city pre-tourism boom. I really enjoyed reading about the various characters in Savannah and the culture, especially the history surrounding the restoration of old houses in the area, and Lady Chablis’ story.

** spoiler alert **

The end of the audible version included an interview with the author and we learn the murder took place at least a year before Berendt arrived in Savannah. In the book it happens halfway through, and readers are led to believe the author had already developed a friendship with Williams. Knowing the truth, I don’t know how I feel about his credibility.

The other interesting thing with the Audible narration? The narrator is the same as that of Looking for Alaska by John Green. Very jarring for me originally since the two books are very different. #audiobookproblems.

Now to watch the movie

Popsugar Reading Challenge: *New York Times Bestseller
*it’s not a best seller now, but it was when published.

Leave a Reply

