Maud Hart Lovelace Roundup

Elementary students across Minnesota will vote on their favorite Maud Hart Lovelace nominees by Friday, April 8th. I’m hoping to finish them all, but I only have two weeks left. I managed to read three this week though!

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesl Shurtliff

Ever wonder why Rumpelstiltskin wanted a the lady’s baby? Or why the king thought she could spin straw into gold in the first place? Rump explains all these questions and more.

Rump was born only knowing half his name (and not the great half), as his mother died halfway through announcing his name. In Rump’s world, your destiny is tied to your name, and with only half a name, he had half a destiny. Until he found his mother’s spinning wheel and Rump begins to discover his destiny (and full name).

I love fractured fairy tales so I was really excited about Rump. I don’t know if it was the narrator of the audio book or because I know how the story ends and was impatient for all the ends to meet, but the book seemed to drag on forever!

8 Class Pets + 1 Squirrel ÷ 1 Dog = Chaos by Vivian Vande Velde

This little book is hilarious! It reminds me so much of Louis Sachar’s Sideways Stories from Wayside School books. Anyway, 8 Class Pets + 1 Squirrel ÷ 1 Dog = Chaos, tells the story of Twitch, the school yard squirrel, who got chased into the school by an owl, and then a dog. The dog and squirrel embark on a haphazard chase through the school, with the school pets trying to help their friend Twitch. Each chapter is told from the perspective of a different animal.

My favorites are the hamster and the snake.

Double Dog Dare by Lisa Graff

Francine Halata desperately wants to be the anchor for her elementary school’s announcements. When the Media Club vote for anchor comes to a tie between her and new kid Kansas Bloom, the two begin a Dare War to decide who will be anchor for the next semester. Along with the dare war, the two kids are facing similar family issues at home.

I checked this book out multiple times from the library and kept returning it after time was up and I still hadn’t read it. I don’t know why I lacked interest, since once I started, I couldn’t put it down! I loved Francine and Kansas! The only thing that rubbed me the wrong way is the principal’s obsession with “crushes.” Just let the two kids be friends!

Leave a Reply

