American Housewife

American Housewife featured prominently in many respected review sites, and was listed number one on Booklists Top 10 Humorous Fiction: 2016 list. Between that, a friend’s glowing recommendation, and recently becoming a wife, I knew I had to read the short story collection.

While some of the stories were amusing and clever, others were just odd, like “The Fitter” and “Hello! Welcome to the Book Club.” I particularly liked “The Wainscoting Wars,” “Dumpster Diving with the Stars,” and “Dead Doormen.” Apparently many of these stories were previously published in literary magazines I’ve never heard of… So while it might not be my favorite book, it encouraged me to check out more short stories and research different literary publications.

Also, I love that Helen Ellis is a professional poker player.

Leave a Reply

