Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library is my most recent foray into the Maud Hart Lovelace nominees this year. It’s been on my list for a while now, because it’s all about an amazing library, but I never got around to reading it. I knew I would read Mr. Lemoncello this year, but once I started my new job (more about that later) and found that most children (or their parents) said Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library was the last book they read and really enjoyed, I knew I had to check it out.

I found Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library really fun and I love all the library/lit references. I wish I’d read it and not listened because it was hard to follow the puzzles without seeing them in front of me. It also makes me want to go back and reread those books mentioned! Maybe I’ll start using those books, like From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in my Readers Advisory.

I wish some of the characters were further developed (Hailey and Sierra especially). The beginning hinted at their motivations and then as the game went on that got ignored. Also, the back flap calls Kyle the class clown. I never got that impression. He seemed like a regular kid to me.

One thought on “Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

Leave a Reply

