Books I Read and Forgot to Review

I’m still getting used to this blogging business. I usually finish a book, rate it, categorize it, and write a short blurb on Goodreads. Here are a bunch of books I read since starting the blog and forgot to blog about.

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

It was a sweet book, and I felt for the characters, but after reading The One and Only Ivan, I expected more. More character development, more plot development, more everything. However, Crenshaw does touch on homelessness, an aspect of childhood that many books do not, so I appreciate that.

 

 

 

Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton by Matt Phelan

Wonderful illustrations, and I like the authors note at the end. However, there didn’t seem to be much of a story. I enjoyed the book because I like old movies. I don’t want to imply that no child ever will like the book, but it seems like one of those juvenile books that adults love and nominate for awards, but kids actually don’t like. When I worked at Borders I overheard one kid tell another something along the lines of, “see those books with the award sticker? That means it’s boring.”

 

 

Safe from the Sea by Peter Geye

This was my library’s book club book for November. I couldn’t get into the book and I didn’t care for the characters. The only interesting thing (for me) is the setting. I love Duluth and the North Shore. Everyone else in my book group loved it though…

 

 

 

 

Circling the Sun by Paula McLain

Beryl Markham is a fascinating person and I loved her story. Colonial East Africa is also a fascinating time period, and I’m sure I’ll read more. However, the last several chapters dragged on and on. As always, McLain’s writing is beautiful and the characters are wonderfully developed. When I first began listening I did not realize Markham was a real person or that Karen in Circling the Sun is Isak Dinesen who wrote Out of Africa.

 

 

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Lara Jean is a major romantic. She writes each of the boys she’s loved a letter and stores them in her hatbox as part of her moving on process. Nobody knows about her letters until somehow they get mailed, and now everyone of those crushes knows. From her middle school crush on the most popular guy in school to her sister’s ex-boyfriend.

While Lara Jean isn’t the most sympathetic of characters, she’s very realistic and I somehow still find myself rooting for her. Peter K. is the same way– I feel like I should really dislike him, but somehow, he wormed his way into my heart and I root for him too.  I also think that the audio version makes her sound whinier and more babyish than the book intends.

Leave a Reply

