My 2015 Favorites

It’s a few days late, with the holidays and everything I’ve been a bit distracted. It should be no surprise that I love lists, so of course I compiled my own personal best and worst of 2015 list.

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

Since reading this book in November I still think about the ingenious way Walter told this story. The narrative jumped between characters, timelines, and formats. It should be confusing, but somehow it wasn’t, and only added to the epic nature of the story.

P

P

Rain, Reign by Ann M. Martin

When I think Ann M. Martin I think fluffy babysitters club. I don’t think moving narrative about an autistic girl and her loyal dog. I am not personally familiar with  Autism Spectrum Disorder, but I’ve worked in enough schools to glean a broad understanding, and I found Martin’s portrayal to be pretty realistic. Listening to the book as opposed to reading it, and hearing all the homophones, really made Rose’s obsession real to me. Also, I’m a sucker for dog stories even though they always make me cry.

P

P

Strictly No Elephants by Lisa Mantchev and illustrated by Taeeun Yoo

I love elephants. For Christmas I got a “Save the Elephants” sweatshirt from my mom and an elephant watch where proceeds go to help Indian Elephants. Anyway, I noticed we have a great influx of new picture books with elephant characters and I read them all. This one was my favorite. Between the beautiful illustrations and the spunk of the character, I couldn’t wait to recommend it patrons and parents.

Leave a Reply

