December Craft and Story Hour

P1020145

I apologize for the delay in posting about our December craft hour. Our camera cord got momentarily lost in the holiday shuffle.

My original plan looked something like this but apparently my egg cartons are bit more shallow. By the time I cut them out I could barely hold on to them, and did not want to create an overly frustrating craft for small hands.

Enter plan b. I found this template  in a google image search. We only used the body and feet portion of the template. We then took cut up black and white streamer paper and glued our squares onto the main body of the penguin. Then cut out feet and a beak, and glued on googly eyes. Overall it turned out great! Some aspiring artists did not cut out their penguins but drew a background for their penguins.

After I set up the craft and got everyone situated I read two very funny penguin stories. We started with  Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups by Tadgh Bentley and finished with Archie the Daredevil Penguin by Andy Rash. Little Penguin Gets the Hiccups includes a lot of audience participation, which is always a hit. Archie the Daredevil Penguin is written and illustrated in a comic book style with lots of funny comments from side characters.

Overall, this was one of my more successful craft and story hours. Now I just need to figure out what to do with all the leftover black and white tissue paper!

Leave a Reply

