Crazy Rich Asians and China Rich Girlfriend


 

A while back I saw a lot of posts about China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan. Somehow I missed the hullabaloo from his first book Crazy Rich Asians, and knew I had to remedy that mistake. I immediately put Crazy Rich Asians on hold and devoured it.

 

While I didn’t like it as much as some people I know, it was an incredibly fun read. I felt the prologue was unnecessary and actually served to confuse me even more. I also spent the first half of the book flipping to the family tree trying to figure out who the characters were and how they were connected. I’m not sure I really understood who was who by the end, but I guess that really didn’t matter. The second half also started to drag a little for me. However, conniving actions of some of the characters had me on the edge of my seat. I had to know what would happen next and how Nick and Rachel would handle their situation. Reading Crazy Rich Asians also made me realize how little I know about Asian history and culture. I need to remedy that soon!

 

Many friends of mine did not like China Rich Girlfriend as much as Crazy Rich Asians, but I think they are equally rated. While Crazy Rich Asians is a bit more believable in terms of the actions of characters, I never felt that China Rich Girlfriend dragged. It was just fun and fluffy, whereas Crazy Rich Asians tried to be something more. In the last chapter of China Rich Girlfriend all plot points are wrapped up, although vaguely. I wonder if Kwan is planning on a third book in the series. While my hopes aren’t incredibly high (not sure what else he has to write about), I will be one of the first to put my name on the holds list. If anything they are a fun escape into a world I will never be able to experience, unless the salary of librarians drastically changes.

2 thoughts on “Crazy Rich Asians and China Rich Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

