Story and Craft Hour: Leaf Art

November’s Story and Craft Hour focused on leaves. My inspiration are these pins I found on Pinterest. Attendees and I went outside to collect leaves for our projects, and then we sat down for a story. I read Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf by Lois Ehlert. While an interesting story, and I usually love Ehlert’s illustrations, this story did not keep the children’s attention. I think Fall is not Easy would be a better choice if I do this again next year. Also, October would probably be a better month. The leaves are all hard and crunchy now, so my visions of cute little leaf animals did not quite turn out.

image

My little artists were also very particular and distraught that their pictures did not look like the examples and their leaf rubbings did not look like real leaves. I tried to show them that my leaf rubbings did not actually look like real leaves either, but their frustration remained. Perhaps this activity is too advanced for the age group. While there were many hiccups in this program it was a great learning experience, and I hope to improve upon it next fall.

Leave a Reply

