Adult Book Club

As Branch Librarian I also run adult programs, the most regular of which is book club. I really enjoy book club as it encourages me to read different adult books. I worked in schools for so long that it seems I only ever read children’s or YA books, so I was (and am) way behind on my adult reading. Book club makes me read those books everyone else read 3 or 4 years ago, like The Guernsey Literary Potato Peel Society, Olive Kitteridge and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

The other books we’ve read this year are:

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Half Broke Horses by Jeannette Wells

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The Space Between Us by Thrity Umrigar

Clara and Mr. Tiffany by  Susan Vreeland

The Cutting Season by Attica Locke

Safe from the Sea by Peter Geve

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northrup

The current book club group is composed mostly of retired women, many of which are 75+. Hearing their stories is wonderful, and I greatly appreciate this opportunity to meet with the older members of the community.

Leave a Reply

